Awesome CSS for beginners and intermediates

Hi All

I have gotten a HUGE amount of functionality out of CSS modifications - they can be both cosmetic (making things easier on the eyes), and also functional (adding such things as multicolored highlighters, etc etc)

Should we start a thread aimed at anyone from beginner-level on up, coaching people on CSS use, starting with how to turn on the custom CSSes, assuming zero background knowledge?

then maybe we can also start posting links, and CSS code snippets, for the mods that we’ve found most helpful/beautiful …

(Will probably start expanding this thread a little bit at a time, starting with instructions for how to activate custom CSSes for the complete beginner, then moving on to some examples…)

Stay tuned

19 Likes

That would be great! I’d like to know a lot more about what CSS can do in Roam.

5 Likes

This is a great idea. I would definitely be delighted.

1 Like

Love this idea . I know how to copy a theme someone has already made but would be great to know what the lines do to modify things. Besides, if I am using the stuff I would like to know what it does

2 Likes

Check this work:

Really nice organized and clear. I used this theme to modify mine and understand what does what on ROAM.
7 Likes

@SawaSawa thanks! this is a good teaching example because it’s heavily commented.

OK let’s get started here.

CSS for beginners, part one.

1. What is CSS?

It stands for “Cascading Style Sheet”, and it’s one of the three main formal languages that helps define what a website looks like. The other two “languages” are Javascript (useful for handling situations that require inputs and outputs, like navigating an online form) and HTML (which defines what the page-elements of any given website are).

CSS is kind of like a programming language, but it doesn’t really have a sequential flow, the way many other programming languages do.